Lake’s - my lake hotel, Pörtschach, Wörthersee
Gemeinde Pörtschach


24. Internationaler Johannes-Brahms-Wettbewerb 2017 Poertschach Austria

Information Regulations Registration Contact

  §1 Organizer
  §2 Venue, Time
  §3 Registration
  §4 Entry
  §5a Piano
  §5b Violin
  §5c Viola
  §5d Cello
  §5e Voice
  §5f Chamber m.
  §6 Assessment
  §7 Miscellaneous

  auf deutsch

Please note: These are the 2017 competition rules and regulations. We are currently working on the 2018 regulations, which will be published shortly. Thank you for your understanding!

Bookmark and Share

5b Violin

General Information:

  • The chairman will terminate any presentation exceeding the given time frame.
  • Please choose repeats in your own responsibility. The maximum duration of each round must not be exceeded.
  • For Bach, Mozart, Paganini op. 1 as well as for the sonatas please use the urtext editions.
  • Good pianists are made available by the organizer but can also be brought along by the candidate (at their own cost).
  • Please prepare an attractive piece with a maximum duration of 4-5 minutes for the prize winners' concert. Choose from the theme "folk music (dance music)", if possible in connection with your home. For suggestions, see § 2.

A) First Round:

  1. One original caprice for violin solo by N. Paganini or of a comparable level of difficulty.
  2. J. S. Bach: Two dances (both with double variation) from Partita I, B minor, BWV1002
    Two dances from Partita II, D minor, BWV 1004 (not Chaconne)
    Two dances from Partita III, E major (not Preludio)
    Note: Please choose a slow and a fast movement!

Duration: 10 minutes.
All pieces of the first rounds have to be performed from memory.

B) Second Round:

  1. First movement and cadence of one of the following violin concerts by W. A. Mozart (B major, KV 207; D major, KV 211; G major, KV 216; D major, KV 218; A major, KV 219) or by J. Haydn.
  2. One sonata for violin and piano by J. Brahms (op. 78, G major, op. 100, A major, op. 108, D minor)
    R. Schumann, sonata A minor, op 105.
  3. Scherzo c-minor by J. Brahms from the FAE-Sonata (from memory) (Schumann, Brahms, Dietrich),
    a “Hungarian Dance” by J. Brahms, arranged by J. Joachim.

Duration: about 30 minutes
Concerts have to be performed from memory, sonata can be performed with notes - except the FAE-Sonata which also has to be played from memory.
Note: All works selected for the second round have to be prepared in full. If necessary, the jury will decide on further time limits before the beginning of the second round. These limits will apply to all candidates.

C) Final with full orchestra:

First movement and cadence from one of the following violin concerts:

  • J. Brahms op. 77, D major;
  • J. Sibelius op. 47, D minor;
  • P. I. Tschaikowsky op. 35, D major

In the final round, concerts have to be performed from memory.


© 2003-2017 Johannes-Brahms-Gesellschaft Pörtschach